Two former Air Corps Officers re-commissioned

Date Published : October 13th, 2019    Published By : admin

A ceremony to mark the re-commissioning of two former officers of the Air Corps; Lieutenant Colonel John O’Keeffe and Lieutenant Colonel Wayne Tyrrell was held at Baldonnel today.

These two officers had formerly departed the Permanent Defence Force to pursue other career options.

Following an initiative of the Minister with Responsibility for Defence, Mr. Paul Kehoe T.D., these officers have been readmitted under a scheme which formalised the terms and conditions for the re-commissioning of former officers of the Permanent Defence Force.

In his address at Baldonnel today, Minister Kehoe warmly welcomed the decision by the two officers to renew their military careers. “By taking this decision, you are reaffirming your commitment and desire to return to serve on behalf of Óglaigh na hÉireann and indeed the Irish State,” Minister Kehoe said. “You are sending out a clear signal that a career in the Air Corps is both exciting and fulfilling,” he added.

Minister Kehoe pointed to the actions the Government is taking aimed at tackling issues around recruitment and retention in the PDF. He cited the measures contained in the recent report by the Public Service Pay Commission, which includes the reinstatement of a service commitment scheme for pilots. In relation to the re-commissioning of officers, Minister Kehoe said he wants to see this policy implemented effectively across the Permanent Defence Force. Applications for re-commissioning from other Officers will be considered. “I know, as Minister, that this is a policy that has come to fruition due to the hard work and innovation shown by Military Management and the Department of Defence.” Minister Kehoe said “These arrangements recognise that individuals do choose to leave their organisation for a variety of factors.

There is no reason why military personnel who gain new experiences outside of military life should not, if they so choose, bring those experiences back to the Defence Forces,” he added.

Deputy Chief of Staff (Support), Major General Séan Clancy; Lietuenant Colonel John O'Keeffe, Minister Paul Kehoe, Lieutenant Colonel Wayne Tyrrell , General Officer Commanding Air Corps Brigadier General Rory O'Connor. (Photo Courtesy: Department of Defence)

← Back to Previous Page